RAID Capacity Calculator
RAID type:
Drive capacity (GB):
Single drive cost:
Number of drives per RAID group:
Number of RAID groups:

Total usable storage capacity (TB): 2.00 *
RAID type:RAID-Z1 (single parity with variable stripe width)
Number of RAID groups:2
Number of drives per RAID group: 3
Total number of drives:6
Drive capacity (GB):500
Capacity of a single RAID group (GB): 1000
Space efficiency:0.6667 (66.67%)
Fault tolerance:1 disk drives per RAID group
Minimum number of disks drives per RAID-Z1 group:3
Single drive cost:
Cost per TB usable:
Total cost:

RAID-Z is a software-based RAID implementation in the ZFS file system.
A number of disks, partitions, or even files can be grouped into a raidz group with one of the following parity protection schemas: single parity - RAID-Z1, double parity - RAID-Z2, or triple parity - RAID-Z3. One or multiple raidz groups form a zpool which is used as a storage pool for a ZFS file system. Data is striped across all raidz groups included in a zpool.

* A raidz group with N disks of size X with P parity disks can hold approximately (N-P)*X bytes. Furthermore, ZFS reserves 1/32 (3.125%) of the available zpool storage capacity. For more details see ZFS / RAIDZ Capacity Calculator

This RAID calculator computes storage system characteristics based on the provided RAID level, number of disk drives, and drive capacity.

Supported RAID levels are:

  • RAID 0 (block-level striping without parity or mirroring);
  • RAID 1 (mirroring without parity or striping);
  • RAID 1E (mirroring with striping);
  • 3-Way Mirror or Triple Mirror (mirroring without parity or striping);
  • RAID 3 (byte-level striping with a dedicated parity disk);
  • RAID 4 (block-level striping with a dedicated parity disk);
  • RAID 5 (block-level striping with distributed parity);
  • RAID 5E (RAID 5 Enhanced) and RAID 5EE (RAID 5E Enhanced) (block-level striping with distributed parity and integrated active distributed hot-spare);
  • RAID 6 (block-level striping with double distributed parity);
  • RAID 10 (1+0) (striped mirrors - a combination of multiple RAID 1 groups with RAID 0);
  • RAID 50 (combination of multiple RAID 5 groups with RAID 0);
  • RAID 60 (combination of multiple RAID 6 groups with RAID 0);
  • RAID-DP (stripe set with double parity and two dedicated parity disks);
  • RAID-TEC (triple erasure encoding);
  • RAID-Z1 (single parity with variable stripe width);
  • RAID-Z2 (double parity with variable stripe width);
  • RAID-Z3 (triple parity with variable stripe width).